Food memories

It’s Christmas Eve!  I’m one of those people who really digs Christmastime.  I like the music, the cheesy decorations, and the cookies.  Actually, I love the cookies.


Tomorrow, I’m going to be making cinnamon rolls for Christmas morning.  I’m pretty stoked.  I’ve never made cinnamon rolls before so this will be an adventure.  I’ll definitely update about how it all went.

What are your favorite food memories from this past year?
Let me share with you some of mine.

Pesto from a farmers market in San Diego.  I tasted the one in the middle and it was heaven.  So simple but so delicious.  It wasn’t blended to a pulp…in fact, it was pretty much deconstructed pesto.  There were lots of roughly chopped pieces of fresh basil, whole pine nuts, and plenty of good olive oil.  I may or may not dream about it from time to time.
Red walnuts from the same farmers market.  I’d never heard of red walnuts before this day.  They were addicting.  Best walnuts I’ve ever had.
Clam chowder from the Fisherman’s Wharf in Monterey, California.  I’ve visited this place so many times growing up and every time I go, getting clam chowder is a must.  There are numerous restaurants and vendors that offer samples.  I don’t have a specific one that I’d recommend, but just know that I have never been disappointed by any sample I’ve tried or bowl I’ve bought.  If you ever decide to go and get some, please do yourself a favor and get it in a sourdough bread bowl.  Swoon.
Vanilla cupcakes with verrry vanilla buttercream and oreo sunflowers.  A couple of my darling friends surprised me with these for my birthday.  My friend said he accidentally spilled too much vanilla extract into the frosting, making it super vanilla-y.  It’s a good thing I love vanilla.  My favorite flower and perfect cupcakes?  I couldn’t ask for more.  (Please note the cute M&M ladybugs.)
Red and green enchiladas.  My friends are too good to me.  I was totally content with my cupcakes, but they threw me a party too.  We made these yummy enchiladas and had a blast.
Ice cream from Maggie Moo’s in St. George, Utah.  My mom and I took a quick trip to the Utah Shakespearean Festival and made a very good decision in stopping by Maggie Moo’s between plays.  I got classic vanilla and dark chocolate.  So.  Good.
Mini berry tart from Whole Foods Market.  WF is pretty much my dream grocery store.  I rarely shop there but when I do, I make sure to hunt down every single free sample they’re offering.  Especially the cheese.  Please tell me I’m not alone in this.  Although this was a free sample, I would have gladly paid money for it.  I could have eaten this tart in one bite but it was so good, I made it last for two.  Craziness, I know.  Those two bites were perfect.
Side note – please pardon my super dirty fingernails.
Fancy pants tea.  One of my lovely friends gave me this.  It was from the Venetian or some other fancy place on the strip.  I can’t remember exactly what it was called, but I do remember it was a black tea with hints of vanilla and cinnamon.  And it came in a cool pyramid shaped bag.
 Brownies.  These might look good, but they weren’t my favorite.  The reason they’re on here is because this was the first thing I made for my silly little “Operation Food Blog” photo album on Facebook.  With the help of my best friend, we photographed every step of the brownie making process.  The results were pretty, but the taste was just way too dark, fudgey, and rich for me.  
…..Did I really just say that?
Ina Garten’s apple crostata.  Buttery, almost shortbread-like crust, tart apples, and a sweet crumb topping.  This has to be one of my favorite things that I’ve ever made.  I made it as a Thanksgiving dessert and it was devoured.  My mom loved it so much she asked me to make another one the day after.  I honestly don’t think I’ll ever make an apple pie again because this apple dessert is so much better and so much easier.  Go make this recipe now!
Korean glass noodles with bulgogi marinated chicken.  Cooking this dish was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.  This is the kind of food that’s so good, even when you’re full to maximum capacity, you’ll risk a severe stomach ache and take another bite simply because you love it so much.  If you’re wondering, I used these recipes.

Goodness gracious.  Just looking at these pictures makes my mouth water.  As this year ends and a new one begins, I’m expecting more fantastic memories and I couldn’t be more excited.
One thought on “Food memories

  1. Pingback: Bite of the World: Kimchi | Quest for Delicious

Leave a Reply

