The return of the green smoothie

I remember when I first started reading health and fitness blogs long ago, “green monsters” were extremely popular.  The first one I ever made for myself contained banana, spinach, and almond milk.  Pretty simple but surprisingly tasty.  I recently made myself a green smoothie for the first time in a long time and it was amazing.  My mix contained:
2 large handfuls of baby spinach
~1/3 cup each of frozen mango and frozen strawberries
~1/2 cup fat free Greek yogurt (love)
~1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk 

So dreamy.  Next time I will definitely throw in some frozen banana and frozen blueberries.  The protein in the yogurt gives the smoothie a lot of staying power and for even more, you could add a spoonful (~1 tablespoon is awesome) of your favorite nut butter or a scoop of protein powder.  


I love the fact that you can blend up your veggies and drink them in a wonderful smoothie without tasting them!  Do you think any other vegetables besides leafy greens would blend up nicely into a smoothie?  For some reason, I think cooked carrots would work out.  They’re already nice and sweet and as long as they’re soft, I think they’d be great in a smoothie!


I’ve got my eye on this green smoothie from Joy the Baker.  I would never think to add pear into a smoothie so this is intriguing to me.  I love that intense green color!


What are your favorite smoothie ingredients?

2 thoughts on “The return of the green smoothie

Leave a Reply

