Peanut sesame noodles with vegetables and chicken

Uhhh… Yum.

Any recipe that goes from ingredients to in my mouth in a short amount of time is a good one in my book.  Boiling the pasta is probably the most “time-consuming” part of this dish.

Had I known that it was national peanut butter day on the 24th, I totally would have made this then.

But no matter; these noodles are good all day, any day.

Peanut Sesame Noodles
from Smitten Kitchen

For peanut dressing
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup warm water
1 tablespoon chopped peeled fresh ginger
1 medium garlic clove, chopped
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 1/2 tablespoons Asian toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes or a splash of the hot sauce or chili paste of your choice

After this point, Miss Smitten Kitchen gets fancier than me. 

For noodles
3/4 lb dried soba noodles (dried linguine fini or spaghetti will work in a pinch)
4 scallions, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, cut into 1/8-inch-thick strips
1 yellow bell pepper, cut into 1/8-inch-thick strips
Half a seedless cucumber, thinly sliced
1 cup firm or extra-firm tofu, cubed
3 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted


I’m all for ease so all I did was cook some whole wheat spaghetti noodles, steam some frozen vegetables, grill some chicken, and call it a day.  I think people are much more likely to have spaghetti hanging around as opposed to soba noodles, and steaming frozen vegetables…well, there’s pretty much no work involved there.

I used this frozen vegetable mix as well as some frozen sugar snap peas.  For the chicken, I rubbed it with a little olive oil, threw on my favorite seasoning blend, and grilled it on the George Foreman.  Super simple and perfect.  The original recipe has tofu instead of chicken, which is awesome if you want a completely vegetarian meal.
Think peanut butter with noodles sounds weird?

So did I the first time I heard of it.  But then I took a taste and never looked back.  For some reason, it just works.  I don’t question the phenomenon.

Try it, you’ll like it! 🙂

What’s your favorite thing to pair with peanut butter?
7 thoughts on “Peanut sesame noodles with vegetables and chicken

  1. Pb and noodles sound amazing! My new favorite thing to pair with PB is a hot sweet potato! If you havent tried it yet, I definitely recommend it. I also love pb with bananas, on oatmeal, in yogurt bowls…I like it with lots of stuff 🙂

  2. Oh I love PB with noodles! My mom used to make it a lot. You should try it with crunchy PB or some roasted peanuts next time for extra crunch :)I love adding PB to chili for a nutty flavor, quinoa and peanut sauce (PB flour + water), and adding a little to green smoothies. Might sound like weird combos, but they're so good!

  3. I so want to make this, but I just know my hubby would not eb able to handle it! I have a sweetpotato and black bean pockets recipe on my blog that is served with peanut butter sauce. Its TO DIE.

  4. Hey I just found your blog and I'm following you now 🙂 I am a firm believer that peanut butter tastes good on just about anything. And I'm not going to lie, I'm kind of mad that I didn't know there even was such a thing as National Peanut Butter Day.- Krista

Leave a Reply

