Tandoori turkey burgers

This isn’t your ordinary burger.

You’ll find no beef. No cheese. No ketchup and mustard. No grease running down your hands.

I realize that I probably just listed the top things the average person loves about burgers. Stay with me guys!

Here’s what you will find: super bold seasonings, lovely cool/warm contrast, and tangy freshness. Basically, a burger that’s totally drool-worthy.


Tandoori Turkey Burgers
courtesy of Baked Bree


1 1/2 pounds ground chicken (turkey) breast
4 green onions
3 Tablespoons grated fresh ginger
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
1 Tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoons ground cardamom
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste
Naan bread
cucumber
cilantro
red onion sliced thinly


Yogurt Sauce
1 small container fat free plain Greek yogurt
1 Tablespoon fresh mint chopped
2 teaspoons cumin
1 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice
salt and pepper

Put the chicken (turkey) and all of the spices in a bowl and mix well.  Form into 4 patties.
Mix the yogurt sauce in a small bowl.  Set aside.
Slice some cucumbers, red onions, and cilantro.
Cook the burgers on a preheated grill over medium-medium high grill.  About 3 minutes per side.
(I used my George Foreman! Took ~5-6 minutes total.)  Throw the Naan bread on the grill during the last few minutes.
Top the burgers with a few sliced cucumbers, red onion, a generous handful of cilantro, and the yogurt sauce.

Chomp

I’m in love with the cool crunch of the cucumber and the super fresh taste the yogurt sauce adds.  After I mixed the sauce, I gave it a taste and thought, “Whoa.  This might be too tangy.” But the flavor of the burger itself stood up really nicely to the sauce.  Fresh lemon, ginger, and mint lend a fantastic brightness to the burger, while paprika, cumin, and cayenne add the spice.  It’s harmony, I tell you.


As you can see, I used a sandwich thin instead of naan and left off the cilantro and red onion. I’m positive they all would’ve been great, though! Just look at
Bree’s photo. Couldn’t be any dreamier.

This was my first time making a burger…let alone a turkey burger.  I’m totally pleased with the results.

Have a lovely evening!
6 thoughts on “Tandoori turkey burgers

  1. Yum! I'm not a huge turkey burger fan but those look good! I'll be on the lookout for your bean burger post because I definately need a recipe for those πŸ˜‰

  2. uhhhm, that looks amazing! i'm going to have to make that asap! i bet if you packed one for lunch the next day, maybe over a salad, it would be extra delicious πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

