Szechwan Tofu

Do any of you have cookbooks that look like this?

A little too loved?
Complete with soy sauce stains, water damage, and torn edges?

…Just me? Okay.

For as long as I can remember, my parents would regularly make two dishes out of this cookbook: Szechwan Chicken and Mongolian Beef.  They’ve always been two of my favorite meals.

Today, I decided to give the chicken recipe a different twist by using tofu instead of the poultry.  What up vegetarian meal! 🙂
Served with fluffy rice and steamed (but still bright green and crisp, please!) broccoli, you’ve got a yummy meal.

My favorite thing about it has always been the addition of peanuts. Love that crunch.
I definitely recommend swapping tofu or tempeh for meat in your favorite dishes from time to time. It’s cool to switch things up and be a temporary vegetarian. 😉

Do any of you guys have tips for pressing tofu?
I feel like no matter what I do, it still retains a lot of moisture.

Have a great night!
3 thoughts on “Szechwan Tofu

  1. Looks delicious! I dont have any tips for pressing tofu but if you find any good tricks, let me know…Last time I accidently got soft tofu and when I tried to press it, it got completely. So sad!!

  2. I use a spatula and press it on the pan when i am cooking it. I press it like crazy almost to the point where it gets burnt because i am crushing it into the pan so much. I am not sure this is the way to do it haha

Leave a Reply

