Winding down

Two more weeks left of school.  I’m spending my time reading a book about bananas, writing a paper on l-carnitine supplementation, and researching the origin of the sweet potato.  Actually starting to study for finals comes soon.

Here are my best tips for pulling through the last couple weeks (at least semi-) gracefully:

Make a list.  Write out all the tasks you need to complete, organized by their deadlines or priorities.  Stick to that list and try to get things done in order.  Another way to go about it is to get things that take the longest done first, leaving the quick and easy stuff for last.

Checking things off a list is awesome. Instant gratification. Maybe I’m just a super simple lady, but it’s little things like these that get me pumped.

Fuel your brain. I don’t know how many friends I’ve had tell me they were so busy, they forgot to eat.  This really makes no sense to me.  It’s something I’ll probably never be able to comprehend.  It doesn’t matter how busy I get, how long my task list is, when I’m hungry, there’s no forgetting about it.

When you’re studying hard all night, burning that midnight oil, your brain is begging for some fuel.  Give it some fuel.  It can be as plain as a bowl of cereal or air-popped popcorn to as fancy as roasted salmon with sweet potatoes and asparagus (my favorite).

Make time for fun.  When I’m busy doing homework, reading, or studying all day long, I get worn out quick.  Real quick.  I find that giving myself a little time to do something other than school-related work refreshes my mind and gives me more energy to complete my tasks later on.

Maybe for you that means watching an episode or two of Saved by the Bell.  Maybe it means going out for frozen yogurt with your best friend.  Maybe it means taking a walk in the park. Whatever makes you feel good, do that.

Relax.  Remember that it’s all going to be okay.  (It will!)  Soon, this will be over and you’ll be able to get in the kitchen and bake Christmas cookies or get in your bed and hibernate like a polar bear.  Both of these things I desperately want to do.  Find your focus and stay with it!  You rule.

Love and happy Sunday to you.

One thought on “Winding down

Leave a Reply

