Korean food & 2 tips for better eating habits

The topic of the day is Korean food.

What do you think of when you think of Korean food?  Probably kimchi.

What you might not know is that there is a wide array of delicious Korean food that you may not have tried due to the fact that you think everything Korean = kimchi.  It’s just not true.

One of my favorite restaurants is this little hole-in-the-wall Korean place called Well Being in the Box.  They have a huge selection of items including different sushi rolls, combination bento boxes, salads, and desserts.

Every time I go here, I absolutely must order the seaweed salad.  Don’t let this freak you out.  Out of all the things I’ve eaten in my life, seaweed salad is one of the most delicious.  I leave the making of this up to the professionals, but I think I can guess it includes classic Korean flavors like rice vinegar and sesame oil.  It’s tangy but also has a slight sweetness.

Did you know seaweed is also a nutrient powerhouse?

This time around (in addition to my seaweed salad), I got the combination plate lunch special, which included Korean marinated short ribs and chicken, salad, macaroni salad, pickled cucumbers, California rolls, and of course, rice.  That’s a mouthful in more ways than one.

If you haven’t tried Korean food, I’d definitely encourage it.  Korean food has some of the boldest and deepest flavors of many cuisines, and you’re almost certain to find something that appeals to you.  Depending on what you get, it can be extraordinarily healthy as well.

Two tips for better eating habits

1.  If you struggle with portion control, take a pointer from Well Being in the Box and serve your food in bento boxes!  It’s a super easy way to portion out your food appropriately.  Never mind the fact that some of them are cute as can be.

2.  If you struggle with eating too much too quickly, try using chopsticks instead of your regular fork and spoon.  All I know is that when I can only pick up 2 leaves of lettuce and 5 grains of rice at a time, I’m going to eat slower.  If you’re already a pro at the use of chopsticks, try to use them with your off hand instead.  Eating slower means giving your body adequate time to tell you when you’re satisfied, which means you have a less chance of overeating.

Have you tried Korean food?  If not, will you?

Have a fantastic day!

2 thoughts on “Korean food & 2 tips for better eating habits

  1. Pingback: Sushi kaya « quest for delicious

  2. Pingback: Bite of the World: Kimchi | Quest for Delicious

Leave a comment