Pizza rethought

A lot of times, when I go to the store, I usually end up with an item or two that I rarely use/cook with.  Just to keep myself adventurous, I suppose.

Rainbow chard, hoisin sauce, seaweed…

Or in this case, big, earthy portobello mushrooms.

“What is that?” you might be asking.

That…is pizza rethought.  It’s your basic pizza toppings sitting on a portobello base instead of doughy crust.  It’s also amazing.  I should have said that first.

Here’s what you do:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Load up your cleaned, de-stemmed, de-gilled portobello with your choice of sauce and toppings.  Throw the mushroom on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake it for about 15-20 minutes, until the mushroom is tender and the cheese is bubbly.  Pizza on a portobello, DONE AND DONE.

This is ridiculously easy and so delicious.  If I ever find myself at a loss about what to do with portobellos, this would definitely be my default plan of action.

Pizza rethought!  Get into it!

And speaking of rethinking, have you heard of this trend?  We’ve got rethinkers left and right!

Leave a Reply

