Vietnamese rice noodle salad

So, I have this thing for a certain pre-packaged salad from Trader Joe’s.

The thing is…I love it.

It’s the Five Spice Chicken and Asian Style Noodle Salad.  AKA Flavortown, USA.

I could eat this salad everyday.  However, if I ate this salad everyday, I’d become a poor lady real quick.

So what’s a girl to do?  Make her own dang salad, obviously!

Enter Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.  In this awesome book, Miss Moskowitz includes a recipe for Vietnamese rice noodle salad with grilled tofu.  After a quick glance at the recipe, I knew I had to make it.

And make it I did.

It wasn’t until I was halfway done making this that I realized I didn’t have a few ingredients (ie. carrots and bell peppers), but I forged on anyways.  The results were great.  The tofu is marinated in the spicy-sweet dressing, which gives it incredible flavor.  Everything comes together on a bed of romaine lettuce, making it filling but still very light.

I (semi-)followed the recipe that Shutterbean posted.  Two things: 1) the thinner the noodles you can find, the better, 2) don’t skip the fresh herbs.  Just don’t.  They make the dish.

Vietnamese rice noodle salad.  This recipe is vegan!  This recipe keeps money in my pocket!  This recipe is totally worth a try.

4 thoughts on “Vietnamese rice noodle salad

    • It’s so fresh and flavorful! Definitely very healthy.

      Side note – I’ve always wanted to try pho! I’ve never gotten around to trying it before.

Leave a Reply

