First (real) houston outings


I’ve been here in Houston for a solid week now and have just recently started my explorations beyond the grocery store for peanut butter or Target for toilet paper.  First things first, right?

Since I know that you’re dying to know, here’s a little bit of what I’ve been up to lately!

Rain.  Lots of it.  I’m learning that this is just normal.

My first venture led me to the downtown area where I stumbled upon a really rad tea spot called Path of Tea.

I might have become a little obsessed with it.  Even though I love tea, I’m certainly no aficionado.  This place could totally run me into one, though.  They have 60+ different types of tea broken into broad categories including black, green, white, rooibos, etc.

They regularly run tea tastings where you get to taste something from each different category of tea, as well as learn about potential health benefits.

While I was enjoying my time at Path of Tea, I had what was quite possibly the best lemon bar I’ve ever had.  It included coconut and green tea which made it totally different than any other lemon bar I’ve tasted.  I hope I can figure out how to recreate it myself someday!

The lemon bar kind of stole the show, but the strawberry sencha tea that I had was rather amazing as well.

After I finished up my tea, I made my way over to Houston’s museum district and checked out the Menil Collection.

The Menil Collection was free and had tons of interesting sculptures, artifacts, paintings, and photographs to look at.

Houston has TONS of other museums that are also free and I definitely plan on checking those out soon!

[[Quick side note: I’ve been a bit of a busy bee since I got here, resulting in a lack of blogging.  As I get myself more oriented to everything, I’ll be back with more regular postings.]]

Are you into art museums?
Do you have a favorite tea?

One thought on “First (real) houston outings

Leave a Reply

