wannabe chipotle burrito bowls

I love Chipotle.  I haven’t been there in several months, but nevertheless, my love persists.

I had a Chipotle right across the street of my university in undergrad.  It was not uncommon for me to choose burrito bowls and tortilla chips as my fuel for late-night study marathons, double-shifts at work, or to simply tame the beast I call my appetite.

I should tell you that this isn’t a recipe.

This is a do-whatever-you-want type of thing.

The only thing that really tasted like Chipotle in my bowl was my cilantro-lime rice.  Which is a stupid easy recipe I got from here.

Everything else, while amazingly delicious, tasted about 10% similar to Chipotle.

Which is why I’ve chosen to call this a wannabe Chipotle bowl.  A better name might be “Chipotle’s distant cousin twice removed bowl”…but that’s just out of hand.

For the chicken, I dry-rubbed the heck out of it with basically the entire contents of my spice cabinet.  Almost.  I used cumin, chipotle powder, garlic powder, oregano, and cracked black pepper.  Rubbed the chicken with a drizzle of olive oil and threw it in a plastic bag with a splash of orange juice for good measure.

After marinating for a couple hours, I grilled the chicken on my baby George Foreman and served it with fresh avocado and jarred salsa.

Easy, easy, easy.

Just a thought: Fajita veggies would be so perfect.  I’m lazy and just munched on a raw red bell pepper instead.  Same diff.

Boom.  Chipotle burrito bowl/do what you want bowl/distant cousin bowl.  Have fun experimenting!  And for your knowledge: If you want to make something a little more authentic, this website looks like a treasure trove of all things Chipotle.

Love to you!

Leave a Reply

